22 January 2019
CNUE Annual Report 2017

CNUE Annual Report 2017

At the service of citizens and the state

The notary’s mission: establishing authentic instruments

The notaries’ mission, which they carry out as delegates of the State that nominates them and accords them the status of public office holder, is to confer authenticity on the legal instruments and contracts they establish for their clients. Authenticating an instrument involves gathering together and expressing the wishes of those involved impartially and in full respect of the law. By appending the State’s seal next to the signature of the parties on the instruments they draw up, notaries are responsible for the content and the form.
An authentic instrument has similar value to a judgement and cannot be contested, except by judicial means. Authentic instruments have probative value, which applies to both justice and the administration in addition to all third parties. They are also enforceable, enabling the contracting parties to obtain direct enforcement of their reciprocal obligations before the courts.

The authentication of acts and contracts is a public service, generally subject to the rules of territorial distribution and to price control. Furthermore, notaries are obliged to act; they cannot refuse to offer their services to anyone requesting them, even though citizens can choose a notary freely.

Notaries must guarantee the publicity of the authentic instrument to third parties and the State, primarily by registering it on the public registers that exist for this purpose. They are also responsible for its perpetuity as they must keep the original in their archives and issue authentic copies.

The notary: a professional at everyone’s service


Notaries, advisers for families

Notaries are legal advisers for families, providing answers to their questions with respect to their estate: home buying, marriage contracts, registered partnerships, donations, wills, succession settlements, etc. Notaries do not only retrospectively settle the property consequences of family events such as divorce, death or an accident leading to a disability. They are also advisers who can be consulted by families at any time, to prepare the transfer of assets or modify the structure of an estate, according to current or future needs. Notaries also have a role, as a trusted third party, in the use of alternative conflict resolution methods such as mediation, conciliation, and in some cases arbitration.

service families 850x565

Notaries at the service of real estate

Many players are involved in real estate, such as estate agents, experts, bankers and the State itself. Notaries, at the heart of the process, facilitate and organise their involvement. They gather together the necessary preliminary information and expertise, where required, draw up a loan document and in most cases conduct the subsequent formalities. These include registration in the public registers, collection and payment of taxes and the final issue of the ownership deed to the purchaser. In many countries, they act as a one-stop-shop.

service Real Estate 850x565

Notaries advising business people

In many countries, legislators have endeavoured to make business life as secure as possible, by entrusting notaries with exclusive competence to draw up legal instruments incorporating and modifying companies, in addition to many legal instruments certifying their activity. Notaries help business projects to succeed and thus better protect the company's shareholders and creditors from the outset. The legal form of the company, the division of powers at its heart and the social and tax status of its directors all affect their family lives and personal estate. The marriage, divorce, fatherhood or motherhood of its directors, not to mention their retirement or death, also has repercussions for the company. Lack of preparation for the transfer of companies is one of the main reasons that they disappear. Notaries carry out an overall analysis; they are able to find complete congruence between the needs of the company, its durability and the aspirations of its management and workforce.

service business 850x565

Notaries in the fight against money laundering

Notaries play a central and effective role in the fight against money laundering. They implement recommendations from the Financial Action Task Force (FATF) and the resulting European legislation. In particular, notaries must inform the public authorities if they have suspicions about a financial operation or transaction. In such cases, notaries must maintain a balance between observing professional secrecy and supporting the work of the public authorities.

service money 850x565

12 décembre 2018
Rapport annuel du CNUE 2017

Rapport annuel du CNUE 2017

Au service des citoyens et de l'état

La mission du notaire: établir des actes authentiques

La mission du notaire, qu’il exerce par délégation, au nom de l’Etat qui le nomme et lui accorde le statut d’officier public, est celle de conférer l’authenticité aux actes juridiques et aux contrats qu’il établit pour ses clients. Authentifier un acte consiste, pour le notaire, à recueillir et exprimer impartialement et dans le respect de la loi, la volonté de ses auteurs. En apposant le sceau de l’Etat à côté de la signature des parties sur l’acte qu’il rédige, le notaire est responsable sur le fond comme sur la forme.
Ayant une valeur semblable à une décision de justice, l’acte authentique ne peut être contesté, sauf par la voie judiciaire. Possédant une force probante qui s’impose tant à la justice qu’à l’administration et aux tiers, il est également revêtu de la force exécutoire, qui permet aux parties contractantes d’obtenir directement l’exécution de leurs obligations réciproques devant la Justice.

L'authentification des actes et des contrats est un service public, généralement soumis à des règles de maillage territorial et d'encadrement tarifaire. Le notaire est par ailleurs tenu à une obligation d'instrumenter: il ne peut refuser son ministère à celui qui le demande et ce, bien qu'il y ait parallèlement un libre choix du notaire officier public par le citoyen.

Le notaire garantit la publicité de l’acte authentique vis-à-vis des tiers et de l’Etat en l’inscrivant aux registres publics prévus à cet effet. Il est aussi responsable de sa pérennité, car il doit en conserver l’original dans ses archives et en délivrer des copies authentiques.

Le notaire: un professionnel au service de tous


Le notaire, conseiller des familles

Le notaire est le conseiller juridique des familles sur les questions qu’elles se posent au sujet de leur patrimoine : achat d’un logement, contrats de mariages, partenariats enregistrés, donations, testaments, règlements de successions, etc. Les notaires ne règlent pas seulement, a posteriori, les conséquences patrimoniales d'évènements familiaux, tels que le divorce, le décès ou un accident engendrant un handicap. Ils sont aussi des conseillers qui peuvent être consultés par les familles à tout moment, pour préparer la transmission des biens ou modifier la structure d'un patrimoine, en fonction des besoins actuels ou futurs. En sa qualité de tiers de confiance, le notaire est également un acteur de l’utilisation des méthodes alternatives de résolution des conflits, comme la médiation, la conciliation ou parfois l’arbitrage.

service families 850x565

Le notaire au service de l'immobilier

De nombreux acteurs interviennent en matière immobilière, tels que les agents immobiliers, les experts, les banquiers et l’État lui-même. Le notaire, au centre du processus, facilite et organise leur intervention. Il rassemble les informations et expertises préalables, rédige éventuellement l'acte de prêt, et procède, dans la plupart des cas, aux formalités postérieures: inscription aux registres publics, perception puis paiement des impôts à l'administration fiscale, délivrance finale du titre de propriété à l'acquéreur, etc. Dans de nombreux pays, il agit donc, en la matière, comme un guichet unique.

service Real Estate 850x565

Le notaire, conseiller des entrepreneurs

Dans beaucoup de pays, le législateur a voulu sécuriser au maximum la vie économique en confiant au notaire une compétence exclusive pour rédiger les actes constitutifs et modificatifs des entreprises, ainsi que nombre de ceux attestant leur activité. Le notaire contribue à mener à bien le projet entrepreneurial et donc à mieux protéger, de façon préventive, les actionnaires et les créanciers de la société. La forme juridique de la société, la répartition des pouvoirs en son sein, le statut social et fiscal de ses entrepreneurs ont aussi des conséquences sur la vie familiale et le patrimoine personnel des entrepreneurs. Le mariage, le divorce, la paternité ou la maternité de ses dirigeants ont également des répercussions sur l'entreprise, sans parler de leur retraite ou de leur décès. Le manque de préparation pour leur transmission constitue l'une des causes majeures de disparition des entreprises. Le notaire est à même, par une analyse globale, de trouver la cohérence parfaite entre les besoins de l'entreprise, sa pérennité et les aspirations de ses entrepreneurs et responsables.

service business 850x565

Le notaire, acteur de la lutte contre le blanchiment

Le notaire est un acteur central et efficace de la lutte contre le blanchiment des capitaux. Il met en œuvre les recommandations élaborées par le Groupe d’action financière (GAFI) et la législation européenne qui en découle. Notamment, le notaire a l’obligation d’informer les pouvoirs publics des soupçons qu’il pourrait avoir à l’encontre d’une opération financière ou d’une transaction. Dans cette perspective, le notaire veille à respecter un équilibre entre le respect du secret professionnel et son soutien à l’action des pouvoirs publics.

service money 850x565